This is my version of potato salad. It is loosely based of the method that I learnt from my mum but I have adapted it to add a bit of seasoning and flavour to the dish.

This dish is very versatile and can be served up in the following ways:-

  • As a starter
  • Part of a main course
  • As a quick snack
  • As the carbohydrate part of your work or school lunch box

Ingredients

4 medium potatoes

1 cup cubed carrots

1 cup frozen peas

2 stalks spring onions, cut into bite sized pieces

3 tablespoons mayonnaise

2 teaspoons black pepper

2 teaspoons hot paprika (or smoked paprika, if you prefer. Or any type of chilli powder that you have)

Spinke of salt, adjust to your taste

Adjust the black pepper and paprika to your taste, preference and tolerance of spicy foods.

Let’s start cooking…

Follow the sequential steps in the images

 

Small cubed pieces of white potatoes in a glass bowl

Carrots cut into small cubes

Peas and cubed carrots in boiling water

Strain out hot water and rest the peas, carrots and potatoes in a bowl

Add the spring onions, black pepper, paprika, salt and mayonnaise and mix well

Close up of creamy potato salad
Yummy!

This dish only takes 20 minutes to prepare and cook. I always chill it in the fridge and eat after a few hours. It really taste delicious when it is cold. If you are in a hurry, rest it in the freezer for 30 minutes. Set a timer so you don’t forget about it.

I have eaten it straight after cooking and it was still delicious. My recommendation is that you eat it cold, though.

If you are preparing this for a party or meal for friends, prepare overnight and leave in the fridge. It keeps well in the fridge for at least 2-3 days. I mainly add it as a salad option when I am eating some cooked meat and green salad.

Drop me a comment to let me know if you had a chance to make this quick and easy potato salad with a spicy twist.

Enjoy!